Tablea Ice Cream with Caramel Honeycomb Chunks. (Cold Sepia – 1)


This ice cream tastes like a scene through a wooden capiz window and feels like waiting. Dark tablea in all its smooth and grainy moods is spiked with shards of amber honeycomb. This is the taste of sepia for me. Walking on red roads, cold white breath like a cloud in the mouth.

Trips to the Cordilleras during Christmas remind me of Sepia. My Cordi friends had a cacao tree right outside their house. The hard maroon fruit reminded me so much of a dark heart or an angry fist, but that was just me, I guess.

Going to the Cordillieras is an eighteen hour trip from Manila. It is also a trip back through time and into the heart of solitude. These are photographs from one of my Christmas trips there.

Everything looked beautiful in sepia.

I want to be trapped in time. All cold and static and still and sepia. I really do.


I have been making homemade Ice cream for a month and a week till I decided to start this blog. They were all photos and musings posted for my Facebook friends and my own spirit, of course. Each post kept me from dying. I looked forward to the Saturday organic market run where I would mill about looking for inspiration. And Sunday night when I would start churning for six hours. (I could not sleep any way. Every time I closed my eyes I saw her dead. Maybe staying awake was my way of refusing to die.) By Monday morning, I had something tangible. I had a churned hope. Cold comfort, yes. But at least I had something and that was something.